The second book in the groundbreaking series that began with Secrets in the Attic by New York Times bestselling author V.C. Andrews about a young girl discovering the shocking secrets of her family's past.

At first glance, Alice appears to be a normal sixteen-year-old girl growing up in a small community. But she has a dark past that slowly begins to emerge. It's common knowledge that her mother murdered her step-father when she was Alice's age, and is now in a mental institution, but the details remain a distant secret. Her entire community, including her grandparents, wonders if Alice has inherited her mother's sin and madness. She is a quiet girl who spends her time painting and writing poetry, but her work seems to contain a dark and sinister element.

When Alice lands a date to the prom with one of the most popular boys, Craig Harrison, she's ecstatic, thinking her luck might be changing after all. The evening starts out promising, but suddenly things take a dangerous turn that leads to a tragic accident and Alice is afraid she's become what everyone has anticipated. In the aftermath of the accident, she's sent to live with her aunt Zipporah and begins to return to her old self... until one day Zipporah takes her to visit the institution where her mother lives, and the truth behind her mysterious past begins to unfold in terrifying detail.


Secrets in the Attic
Secrets in the Shadows

Family Tree
Chapter Listing

Review this Book

Related Links
Upstate NY
New York City

 Chapter Listing


1. My Mother's Daughter
2. Tell Me Everything
3. Take A Chance
4. Craig Harrison
5. The Scene of the Murder
6. Showing Craig the Attic
7. A Date to the Prom
8. Nothing Will Change
9. The Accident
10. A Fresh Start
11. A Home Away from Home
12. A New Room
13. My Deepest Darkest Secret
14. Children of Sin
15. Two of a Kind
16. Peeping Tom
17. Inheriting Evil
18. Broken Promises
19. Another Trip to the Hospital
20. Meeting My Mother